I feel a little bit like the Who’s living in the tiny bit of fluff that Horton holds in his trunk.  “I’m Here!  I’m Here!”  The question becomes is there anyone out there holding my fluff in their…no wait.  I think that metaphor went on a few words too long.

All right, so let me get down to business.  I’m starting a blog.  Why?  Well, someone told me to.  And I always do…no wait…that’s not true.

Well, it’s like this.  I went to a writing conference this weekend (more on that later) and a very media savvy instructor named Kristen Lamb, told us we needed to jump into the 21st century if we ever planned on selling our books.  I don’t want to get ahead of myself here.  I don’t have a book to sell…yet.  That’s true.  But, Kristen was hilarious and seemed to know what the hell she was talking about, so here I am.  She’s also a best selling non-fiction author with a book about social media.  Humorous people can make me do anything.  And I WILL have a book someday…several even!  Here’s Kristen’s fabulous blog:

 http://warriorwriters.wordpress.com/

I learned something else.  I am not unpublished.  I am pre-published.  When I hit that button in the corner (the one that says Publish) then I shall indeed become a published author.  Yay!  Okay, I won’t get a spot on the Today Show and Oprah won’t be putting her ‘O’ symbol on my blog to get the world’s attention, but I have faith.  I have faith and six completed manuscripts.  The odds are good.

So, without further ado…I am going to start blogging three times a week.  You heard me.  THREE times a week.  Mondays I shall do a book review/discussion.  I’ll discuss the latest book that either I or my book club is reading.  Since I’m between book clubs right now (after moving from Pennsylvania to Texas) I shall start with the book I am currently reading by myself, all alone in my living room, except for my cat–who looks at me with contempt as she lounges on the couch.  She hates it when I  get to a really good part and read it aloud to her.  She flattens her ears and tries to look as bored as she can to discourage my insistence that she listen to the classics if she’s going to share my living space.  I mean what else is she good for?  She won’t chase mice, kill bugs or cuddle.  To be honest, I only address her before I read anything aloud so I don’t sound crazy.  Wait…it doesn’t work, does it?  Reading to a cat is still crazy, isn’t it?  Anyhow, it’s not Monday, so I’ll stop here.

It is Wednesday, so I’ll start with my Writing Wednesdays blog.  I’ll discuss writing (duh!) with my fellow pre-published friends and hopefully some professional (meaning they get paid) writers will chime in once in a while.  Except…this week my Wednesday Blog will be on Thursday because I haven’t written it yet.  I’m too busy trying to figure out this blogging website at the moment.  I promise great things to come…that is if you don’t really expect anything too great.  I’m just starting this blog.

Ahhh, but the most exciting thing shall be left for Fridays.  I know for a fact there is a very loyal group of people who call themselves “Phans.”  You know who you are!  I need not explain any further because if you are one…you know it and are damn proud of it.  So, Fridays we shall discuss all things Phantom related.  Whether it be the newest Phantom based book, or the classic book, or previously published books that have our favorite opera ghost, Erik, as a main character.  Sometimes, when I’m in a feisty mood, we may discuss the disastrous thing that ALW is producing–a loosely based, insane effort of a sequel to the world’s finest Broadway show ever produced–and if you don’t know which one that is…well, you’re not a Phan and the Friday blog will either bore you or scare the heck out of you when you realize there are more people out there like me.  Just in case ALW is reading this:  PHANTOM NEEDS NO SEQUEL!

And that, my friends…is my plan for blogging.  It’s all subject to change though.  To quote a line from one of my favorite movies…”Hang on, it’s going to be a bumpy ride.”

